Sun chokes

So I picked up some sunchokes (or Jerusalem artichokes) from a Squamish farmer at the Farmers Market last Saturday. They are quite delicious – the mild, milky, nutty taste of a regular artichoke, with the texture and consistency of a potato. I simply baked them with a bit of olive oil and salt but using them in future,  I think I’ll puree them, maybe make a nice soup or addition to a seafood chowder. I just found whole frozen pink salmon at Safeway on 2-for-1 (until March 7, I think), so I’ll be making chowder soon…

And while I appreciate that they abound in health benefits, and I do recommend them, they are not to be consumed in mixed company in any large quantity (read, as little as a half cup).

“Sunchokes are very rich in inulin, a carbohydrate linked with good intestinal health due to its prebiotic (bacteria promoting) properties. These health benefits come at a price; the food can have a potent wind-producing effect. Sunchokes also contain vitamin C, phosphorus and potassium and are a very good source of iron.”

No kidding.

20130302-232718.jpg

Leave a Reply

