Maraschino cherry chocolate cheesecake

As if the lamb shanks weren’t enough, I made a special cheesecake for dessert! I don’t necessarily recommend the layering technique used here – I tried refrigerating between layers but it didn’t work very well. I might have tried marbling but that hasn’t worked out well for me in the past either. But who cares… it’s cheescake. It was still delicious.

This is the standard Philadelphia recipe that you find on the inside of the box, but for some reason there are many, many versions online. I like this one, so here it is. And you don’t have to buy a box for it.

1 1/4 cup graham crumbs
1/4 cup butter, melted

Preheat oven 350F. Toss in food processor to combine. Should be a bit clumpy. Press into 9″ springform pan.

3 pkg cream cheese, softened
3/4 cup sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract

Mix. Add 3 eggs until just blended. Pour into pan.

I reserved about 1/3 of the batter and added a bunch of melted chocolate and just mixed it in. With the cherry layers, I cut my maraschino cherries in half and added a bit of the syrup.

5 thoughts on “Maraschino cherry chocolate cheesecake

Leave a Reply

