Salmon chowder

I bought two fresh lovely pink salmon – and learned to fillet them! – so I packed away all the leftover flesh and bones for a rainy day. Ok, summer’s probably over, but it’s not quite the rainy season yet. This light, lovely, pink soup is a perfect blend for the transition season.

I vaguely followed this recipe. Most fish stock recipes advise to start with a veggie base and sweat the bones. I didn’t know that so I just covered them in water like a regular chicken stock, but I thought it worked quite well. Since the bones aren’t as hefty as chicken or beef, it’s a quick process too – the whole thing, literally from ‘bare bones’, scratch to finish was about an hour.

Fish stock my way… Place leftover bones/meat in large stock pot. Cover with water, bring to a boil and simmer about 10-12 minutes. Remove larger pieces, pull off the meat and reserve. Strain the rest through a sieve.

  • stock and meat from two salmon
  • 1 fennel bulb, diced small
  • 3 leeks (or one large), diced small
  • 2 cloves garlic minced
  • 1/4 tsp fennel seeds, finely chopped
  • 1 1/2 pounds potatoes, diced small
  • 1 small can diced tomatoes with their juice
  • 1 cup whipping cream
  • salt and pepper to taste

Reserve fish stock in a bowl. In stock pot, add some butter and saute fennel, leeks, and garlic. Once a bit browned and translucent, add potatoes, fennel seed, tomatoes, fish stock. Simmer and serve.

To thicken, they suggest smashing a few of the potato bits. I also added a bunch of fresh dill I had in my fridge and it was an excellent complement. I need to make more soups. This was yum.

20120829-162201.jpg

Leave a Reply

