Crackers.

I’ll start by saying I don’t actually like crackers that much. Sure, I’ll eat those crunchy Stoned-Wheat thin kind if they have enough cheese or antipasto or other tasty dip on them – or if I just want something salty – but I just find anything that you buy in the store to be so awfully dry. Dry, dry, dry.

You can experiment with this recipe a lot too – which I love. I used figs, sunflower seeds and almonds instead of raisins, pecans and sesame but any combination of seeds, nuts and dried fruit would work. You can make it simpler or richer or go for different dried fruits, herbs and spices. I also left out the flaxseed the first time I made them, simply because it wasn’t in my cupboard at the time. I found them to be a bit less mealy in texture, which I liked.

2 cups flour
2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
2 cups buttermilk*
1/4 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup honey
1/4 cup flaxseed ground
(*Hint: make buttermilk by adding about a teaspoon of white vinegar or lemon juice to a cup of milk)

1 cup raisins
1/2 cup chopped pecans
1/2 cup roasted pumpkin seeds
1/4 cup sesame seeds
1 tbsp chopped rosemary

Preheat oven 350F. Stir flour, baking soda and salt. Mix in remaining ingredients. Pour into two 4″x8″ well-greased loaf pan. Bake 45min until golden and springy to the touch.
Once cooled, stash it in the fridge overnight. It’s easier to slice them thinner if it’s colder so you could make this in only one day but it’ll be a little more challenging and you might get thicker crackers. Slice as thin as possible. Place slices in single layer on ungreased cookie sheet.

The whole batch makes a few dozen so you can leave one loaf in the freezer for another time. Reduce heat to 300 and bake for 15min. Flip and bake for another 10min until crisp and golden.

Source: Grazing (2005), Julie Van Rosendaal.

20120827-221710.jpg

Leave a Reply

