Cornbread

[Guest post by Stephanie Jackson.]

This is my adaptation of a recipe I’ve had sitting around for about 12 years. I found the original somewhere on the internet, and I’m afraid I don’t remember the source. It’s someone’s family recipe, I believe, so I take no credit for coming up with it.

If you’re a cornbread purist, I’ve included instructions for the original version as well, but I like mine better and it’s pretty much guilt-free. A note on the flours: You can use almost any kind of flour. I like the texture that results from half spelt, half rice. Rice flour alone is very crumbly and spelt flour alone is too heavy. The two combined make for a nice balance.

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees. Lightly butter an 8″x8″ pan and set aside.

Mix and sift together:
3/4 cup cornmeal
1/2 cup unbleached spelt flour
1/2 cup whole grain brown rice flour
1/3 cup organic cane sugar
1 Tbsp baking powder
3/4 tsp salt

Add:
1 cup unsweetened, unflavoured almond milk (rice milk, soy milk, and plain old cow’s milk work great, too. Just stick to unsweetened and unflavoured.)
1 egg, well beaten
2 Tbsp melted butter (I use unsalted, especially given the salt already in the recipe. Veggie oil can be used in a pinch, but I prefer the taste of butter. If using oil, go for canola – it won’t interfere with the taste.)

Stir to combine. It will be roughly the consistency of cake batter, but grainier. Pour into the pan and bake for 20 minutes. Let cool before slicing. Makes 9-16 servings, depending on the size you want.

Tastes great warm or cold. It also makes an excellent base for stuffing.

For the purists: substitute all-purpose white flour for the spelt and rice flour, cow’s milk for the almond milk, refined white sugar for the cane sugar.
cornbread

Leave a Reply

