Don’t F— with Molasses.

Rarely is an ingredient so unwieldy, so stubborn, or so impossible to persuade as molasses… assuming that the ingredient you have is not still alive.

Step one: buy new molasses. I think the last time I made ginger snaps was last summer and I’m sure the container I had was already at least a year old at that time. By today, it had reached such a consistency that it was thick enough to stand on. I managed to secure the needed half cup for the recipe and should have given up but being my mom’s daughter, I was going to try to scrape every last bit of that molasses out of there…

Step two: accept that resistance is futile. Shortly into this endeavour, I quickly realized that the molasses was winning. Not just winning but decimating me and wrapping every last twisty sticky drizzle over and around every surface in sight.

Step three: find hot water. Lots of it. Toss everything in, throw away container and give up.

And don’t get me wrong. I didn’t even try to measure it, knowing just what a feat it would be to get it into a measuring cup and out again. This was all just trying to get it from the container into the bowl.

If that still doesn’t deter you, here’s the recipe. Enjoy 🙂

3 cups flour
3 tsp baking soda
2 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp ground cloves
2 tbsp ground ginger
Mix.

In separate bowl:
1 cup butter/margarine
2 cups sugar
2 eggs
1/2 cup molasses
Mix. Add to dry ingredients and mix. Make cookie balls on cookie sheets and bake 10-12 minutes at 350F.

20120429-175335.jpg

4 thoughts on “Don’t F— with Molasses.

  1. Pingback: Pumpkin Spice Chèvre Cheesecake | tarragon fields

Leave a Reply

