Caramelized apples with Cambozola

Oh. My. Goodness. If there was a way to have dessert for dinner, this is it.

I do have the good fortune of living near the Granville Island Market where Duso’s makes this incredible brie, pear, caramelized onion cappelletti pasta. I usually buy some whenever I see it and it resulted tonight, in one of my greatest inspirations ever. I only ate four – they are quite large but this dish was so richly delicious. Plus, I started with fig and anise bread from Terra with cambozola and schinkenspeck so I was already partly full 😉

Start with 1 tbsp butter, 2 tbsp brown sugar. Melt and saute with peeled, thinly sliced ambrosia apples, until soft.
Add approx. 1/2 cup cambozola (or gorgonzola for even more flavour, or brie for less, but a rich, soft cheese) and melt into sauce. Stir with pasta and serve.

Again, this was only about 8 large pieces of cappelletti. You can increase/decrease the rough recipe above as desired. So beautifully savoury and caramelly 🙂

20120428-193940.jpg20120428-193950.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

